2012 – A Day In The Life Of Perk

June 2 – June 7

Doing a bit of catch up here… sorry!

Saturday, June 2 – Fab’s birthday in Napa

Absolutely gorgeous day to be up in Napa.  A group of us got together to celebrate Fab’s birthday at a few of our favorite wineries in Napa.  First up was Artesa in Carneros.  We had a scheduled tour, tasting and tapas pairing.  I’d never been up to Artesa.  Its absolutely breathtaking.  The winery sits on top of a mountain and you can see nearly all the way to San Francisco from up there.  Its an old Spanish family that owns the winery.  They own several… and have been in the wine making business since the 1500s.  That’s a lot of wine. 

We started things off with some bubbly, then the tour, then the tapas and wine pairing.  Brilliant!  Highly recommended experience.  You get to spend a nice long while at the winery.  I was very impressed with their wines overall.  And if you are an art fan, this is a must hit.  Unique sculptures and paintings all around the winery.  Wine suggestions: Pinot Noir, a bunch of their Cabs too.  And I did enjoy the sparkling.

Next we were off to Domaine Carneros for a little bit of bubbly.  Both Fab and I are huge fans.  Domaine Carneros is just down the road from Artesa.  It looks like a French chateau in the countryside.  They have a big patio that wraps all the way around the the building.  They also offer table service.  So just go, relax, order a glass of bubbly each and enjoy the Napa countryside.  

Next we ventured over to the Meritage Resort and their tasting room for Trinitas Cellars.  I really enjoy the wines at Trinitas.  They have a wide selection and a good price range.  I really like their Pinot Noir, Zins, Rose and Meritage.  Once everyone tasted a bit, I bought a bottle of the yummy Pinot Noir and we went outside by the pool and just hung out, drank some wine and relaxed.  

By now everyone was getting hungry again.  Some people left and the three or four of us that were left went to dinner in downtown Napa at Grace’s Table.  I’d only had breakfast here before and was mighty impressed.  Dinner did not disappoint.  After dinner, we headed home.  Tired, a little drunk and very happy.

Sunday, June 3 – tennis and more tapas

By Saturday’s standards, Sunday was pretty dull.  Had a tennis match in the Presidio.  Then afterwards, Dan and I headed over to Esther’s place to help her with some legal advice and have some tapas and wine.  Esther is the director of sales for a Spanish import company that focuses on food and wine.  I think I would get so fat if had all that great stuff lying around my house.  Rioja, jamon, cheese.  Yes please!

Monday, June 4 – Murietta’s Well virtual wine tasting

Monday night James, Meg and Katie came over to help drink some wine for the Murietta Well’s (Livermore Valley) virtual wine tasting and food pairing.  James, my chef friend from Cook With James, brought all the food.  And thankfully, he cooked most of it too.  I jumped on the computer at 5pm to hear/see the tasting element from the winery.  Everyone came over after 6.  We cooked our own versions of the food and drank all 4 bottles of wine they delivered.  I really enjoy their red blend The Spur.  I think it drinks quite well by itself.  

 

 

 

Tuesday, June 5 – breakfast with Michele S & Charbay Event

I started off the day meeting my friend Michele S for breakfast at one of my old haunts, Home Plate on Lombard Street.  I used to go to this place all the time when I lived in Cow Hollow.  Sadly, Michele informed me that she’s moving from SF to take a job in Boulder.  We parted ways after breakfast and I wished her well.

The event in the evening was down at Jaspers in the TenderNob area of the city.  James met me down there.  It was a combo of Charbay liquors and Perfect Puree mixers.  I hadn’t heard of either, so I was excited to try.  I learned that Charbay, in addition to producing really nice vodkas, bourbons and tequilas, also makes some pretty good wine.  I really enjoyed the mixology cocktails they made, as well as the tequila.  I could actually enjoy it, sipping it.  No gag reflex that is common with shitty tequilas.  I might have to pick some up for myself.  Sadly they didn’t have any of the wine at the event, so I connected with the winemaker there to make a trip up to Napa to do a proper tasting. 

Wednesday, June 6 – EDD & Tennis

My on-going saga with the EDD to try and collect unemployment.  I’m not sure how anyone gets anything done at this place.  But finally in this interview I seem to have sorted everything out.  Fingers crossed.  The rest of the day was pretty uneventful.  Just my usual Wed night tennis practice in the Presidio.

Thursday, June 7 – my dad’s birthday, otherwise, very uneventful.  I needed a day of rest after the go go go.

This entry was published on August 5, 2012 at 4:27 PM. It’s filed under Entertainment, Events, Family, Friends, Hubbie, presidio, Restaurants, san francisco, tennis, Wine and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

